Berat (pop. 40,000) is known as the ‘City of a 1001 windows’ because of the picturesque effect of the traditional houses which crowd its slopes. The earliest settlement lays on the citadel, from which the town spreads downwards only later towards the river. It took on its present form only during the 18th and 19th centuries. The history of the town is set forth in the two principal museums, the Onufri Icon Museum and the National Ethnographic Museum. Traces of the ancient town of Dimalion were found about 30 km to the west of Berat, at the fortress of Krotina.
The enclosed residential quarters of Kala, Mangalem and Gorica are all composed of typical town houses of the 18th and 19th centuries
In the Hellenistic period the town was equipped with a triangular fortification built of huge and meticulously cut ashlar masonry. The medieval walls were built directly on top of this in the 13th/14th centuries, extending to 1,400 m in circumference, with 24 towers and four entrances
The museum bears the name of the renowned fresco- and icon-painter Onufri (16th century), who has left a rich inheritance. The museum is composed of three rooms, in which numerous icons and a number of textiles and metal objects testify to the highly developed craft skills of the region
National Ethnographic Museum
In the exhibition rooms and in the courtyard of the house are original ethnographic objects from Berat and southern Albania
On the hill of Krotina (alt. 444 m), traces have been excavated of an ancient town of 18 ha, including houses, streets, squares and a stoa. In the 1st century AD the town lost its importance and became merely a Roman military base
This columned portico of the 3rd century BC extends below the acropolis and is similar to the stoa at Apollonia